SEX CRIMES – MIDDLESEX – SEXUAL ASSAULT

A Middlesex man was arrested on charges he had a two-year tryst with a 14-year-old township girl. Authorities said the man. a tattoo artist, coerced sexual favors from the girl in exchange for giving her a free tattoo. He has been charged with multiple offenses including three counts of statutory sexual assault and four counts of sexual assault.

Consensual sex with a minor who is too young to give her consent to having sex. The age of sexual consent is in New Jersey is 16. This is a strict liability offense, meaning it is not relevant whether or not an individual knew he was having sex with a minor. The act in itself is enough to result in a conviction. In New Jersey, the crime of statutory rape is charged as either sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault, depending on the age of the victim. Clearly, the younger the victim, the greater the chance of being charged with aggravated sexual assault as it carries an even stiffer sentence.

A conviction for statutory sexual assault could result in a prison sentence of up to 10 years. For aggravated sexual assault, the maximum prison sentence is 20 years. Additionally, defendants convicted of either of these crimes must register as sex offenders under Megan’s if the victim was under the age of consent. This law requires you to give your name, whereabouts and a list of your crimes to the local community. Additionally, a conviction of aggravated sexual assault requires registration for life.

I, Anthony N. Palumbo, a New Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer, understand the workings of the law and can properly defend accused persons in sexual assault offenses as well as those who have been convicted. Visit my website, www.palumborenaud.com for more information. I have been defending individuals against sexual assault charges, including those involving minors, in New Jersey for almost four decades. As a longstanding member of the legal community, a former prosecutor, and a current public defender, I can give you an honest assessment  of penalties you face and the best possible avenues of relief. If you would like to discuss your case, freely and confidentially, with an experienced attorney at no obligation, contact me at 1-866-664-8118 for a free consultation.

 

 

Union County man indicted on sexual assault and child endangerment charges

A Plainfield man accused of sexually abusing a teenage girl has been indicted on various counts of sexual assault, child endangerment, and criminal sexual contact. The defendant allegedly assaulted the girl repeatedly over an extended period of time, took her to strip clubs in Essex, Union, and Middlesex Counties, and showed her pornographic materials.

 

Crimes against children can include a variety of different charges, as in this case. Some of the most common charges include:

– Sexual assault. Charges for sexual assault can be brought based on many different kinds of non-consensual sexual activity or child sex abuse, and may be charged as either first or second degree crimes based on the severity of the offense.

– Endangering the welfare of a child. Child endangerment, which can be charged as a first, second, third, or fourth degree offense, includes a broad range of behavior where the actor engages in prohibited sexual acts with a child under the age of 16. Child pornography, child sex abuse, and statutory rape, among other things, can all be charged as endangering the welfare of a child.

– Criminal sexual contact. “Sexual contact” is defined under New Jersey law as “an intentional touching by the victim or actor, either directly or through clothing, of the victim’s or actor’s intimate parts for the purpose of degrading or humiliating the victim or sexually arousing or sexually gratifying the actor.” Criminal sexual contact includes offenses such as touching oneself in front of a child or coercing a child to engage in sexual contacts. Depending on the severity of the circumstances, it may be graded as a third or fourth degree crime.

 

The penalties for sex crimes charges are as follows:

– First degree – 10 to 20 years

– Second degree – 5 to 10 years

– Third degree – 3 to 5 years

– Fourth degree – up to 18 months

In addition to jail time, convicted sex offenders must also comply with the registration and reporting requirements of New Jersey’s Megan’s Law.

 

Call me at 1-866-664-8118, we will discuss your questions and concerns.

 

Ocean Township police arrest ex-con for child sex assault

Police in Ocean Township charged a convicted felon with criminal sexual contact and sexual assault in relation to an alleged attack on a 13 year old girl, according to the Asbury Park Press. The man, who was incarcerated from 1997 to 2003 for other crimes, was friend of the victim’s family.

 

Second degree child sexual assault is punishable by 5 to 10 years in prison, and includes situations where the victim is between 13 and 16 years old and the actor is at least 4 years older than the victim. These circumstances also qualify as fourth degree criminal sexual contact, which carries a penalty of up to 18 months in prison.

 

In addition to these penalties, convicted child sex offenders must also register as sex offenders under New Jersey’s Megan’s Law. This can be one of the most difficult parts of a child sex abuse case because registration is very public and can continue after prison or even permanently, severely damaging offenders’ reputations and making it difficult for them to obtain housing and employment.

 

Sexual offenses involving children are some of the most damaging offenses in criminal law, and the mere accusation that a person has committed a child sexual assault can be enough to destroy that person’s family and career forever. If you’ve been charged with child sexual assault in New Jersey, you need a knowledgeable and skilled child sex abuse defense attorney who will fight to have your charges reduced or dismissed. For a seasoned criminal defense attorney, you can contact me, Anthony N. Palumbo, New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney, through the email form on my website or at 1-866-664-8118 for a free and confidential consultation.

 

Monmouth County man indicted on child sexual assault charges

A grand jury recently indicted a Holmdel Township man on four counts of child sexual abuse. In addition to two charges of second degree sexual assault, which were based on alleged sexual contacts with a girl under the age of 13, the defendant was also charged with second degree  child endangerment and fourth degree lewdness.

 

Under the New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice, “sexual contact” is defined as “an intentional touching by the victim or actor, either directly or through clothing, of the victim’s or actor’s intimate parts for the purpose of degrading or humiliating the victim or sexually arousing or sexually gratifying the actor.” When the victim is less than 13 years old and the actor is at least four years older than the victim, sexual contact qualifies as second degree sexual assault and is punishable by 5 to 10 years in prison. N.J.S.A. §§ 2C:14-1, 2C:14-2.

 

Second degree child endangerment is also punishable by 5 to 10 years in prison. The crime can be committed when a person who has a legal duty to care for a child engages in sexual conduct which would impair or debauch the morals of the child. Second degree child endangerment also includes certain offenses relating to the production and distribution of child pornography. N.J.S.A. § 2C:24-4.

 

Fourth degree lewdness, also called “indecent exposure,” occurs when a person exposes his intimate parts for the purpose of arousing or gratifying his own sexual desire or that of anyone else when he knows or reasonably expects that he will be observed by a child who is less than 13 years old and where he is at least four years older than the child. The crime is punishable by up to 18 months in prison. N.J.S.A. § 2C:14-4.

 

In addition to these penalties, a person who is convicted of a child sexual abuse crime will also be required to register as a sex offender under Megan’s Law. N.J.S.A. § 2C:7-2.

 

If you’ve been charged with child sexual assault in Monmouth County or anywhere else in New Jersey, you need a knowledgeable and skilled child sex abuse defense attorney who will fight to have your charges reduced or dismissed. You can contact me, Anthony N. Palumbo New Jersey Sex Crime Attorney, through the email form on my website, or call me at 1-866-664-8118 for a free and confidential consultation. As a former prosecutor and public defender with more than 35 years of experience, I know the tricks and tactics that the other side uses and the best strategies for protecting your rights. I will represent your interests aggressively and help to guide you through this difficult process.

 

 

Westfield Sexual Assault and Robbery: The element of force

New Jersey Sex Crimes Defense Attorney – Anthony N. Palumbo

Westfield, a very safe town located in Union County, recently fell victim to its first sexual assault attack of 2010 when two men raped and robbed a Cranford woman in a minivan.  The incident took place early Monday morning when the 20-year-old woman was walking down the street in Westfield.  A man approached her and forced her into a nearby minivan where a second man threatened her with a knife and forced her to take off her clothes.  After allegedly assaulting the victim, they took $450 from her by force. When she escaped, the assailants fled the scene in their vehicle.  The police are currently waiting on sketches of the suspect and hoping that someone may have further information, however the men have not yet been apprehended.

In New Jersey, sexual assault and robbery are two crimes that require the element of force or threat of force.  In the case described above, force was used in both the robbery and the rape because a threat with a knife is considered a threat of force and meets the requisite element under both robbery and sexual assault.  In some situations, sexual assault can be committed without force if certain circumstances are present.  For example, sexual assault can occur without force if it takes place between a young child and an adult, or between a young adult and someone who plays a supervisory role in their life, like a family member or a coach.  In those cases, the element of force or threat of force is not necessary because the circumstances create a situation in which the victim already feels as if she must comply with the sexual requests of the actor.

If you may have committed a crime using force or the threat of force, I can help you better understand the consequences which may arise from your actions.  When you are up against a criminal investigation, a strong criminal defense may be the key to your freedom.  I have been building strong defenses in New Jersey for more than 35 years and I have a strong reputation for success.  If you or someone you love has been accused of a crime, I can speak with you today about the charges you face in a Free Consultation at 1-866-664-8118.  To learn more about crimes in New Jersey, visit my website to learn more about robbery or sexual assaultin New Jersey at www.palumbo-renaud.com.

Sexual Assault Trial in Union County & Taking the Stand

A recent Union County sexual assault case provides a good example of why clients should listen to their criminal defense attorneys when they tell them not to testify at trial. In a recent the New Jersey sexual assault case, the defendant was convicted and sentenced to the maximum prison term after sexually assaulting a 14-year-old girl, even though the victim’s mother expressed in court that she empathized with the defendant. The convict was a 31-year-old man who suffered from a brain injury when he was 18-years-old and as a result never mentally departed from his teenage years. At trial he gave a speech, against the request of his attorney, in which he apologized to the victim and explained that he felt more like a teenager than an adult. The victim’s mother, a teacher who works with children suffering from brain injuries also spoke in court and explained that she understood his point of view, but that what he did was wrong. Despite the fact that the speech shed light on the defendant’s intention and drew sympathy and tears from those present, it was also noted by those at the trial that the speech was disturbing and gave the overall message that the defendant would continue sexually assaulting young girls. The judge ultimately convicted him to the absolute maximum sentence.

Although defendants often want to tell their story at trial, there are many reasons why this may be a bad idea, even if the defendant is truly innocent. While a jury may be instructed to only take note of certain things this is virtually impossible. Juries are combined not just of people, but of all the experiences and prejudices that have accumulated throughout their lives. Every little detail of the defendant’s decorum can affect the outcome of a case and sometimes it is better for the defendant to dress appropriately and say nothing. An attorney with a lot of experience may be aware that his client will look suspect if he speaks to the jury for countless reasons that have never even been contemplated by the defendant. These reasons can often only be learned through a life time of practicing law and this is one of many reasons why it is important to pick an experienced attorney and listen carefully to his advice. My name is Anthony N. Palumbo, New Jersey sex crime defense attorney and I have more than 35 years of criminal trial experience. For more information on sex crimes and criminal process in New Jersey, contact me at 1-886-664-8118 or visit my website at www.palumbo-renaud.com or www.newjerseysexcrimeattorney.com.