Middlesex County woman charged with prostitution following investigation into online erotic spa advertisements

Police arrested a Middlesex County woman for prostitution and authorities shut down the Bergen County acupressure spa where she worked following a recent investigation into advertisements for erotic spa services that were posted on Craigslist. The spa, one of about a half dozen to be investigated by River Edge police over the past five years, had opened just a few weeks before the police noticed the online advertisements and determined that the business wasn’t licensed for massage. “Social media has become an investigative tool,” said River Edge police chief Thomas Cariddi. “When something comes up, it’s a very quick search from there.”

 

Prostitution is defined under New Jersey law as sexual activity with another person in exchange for something of economic value, or the offer or acceptance of an offer to engage in sexual activity in exchange for something of economic value. Engaging in prostitution is generally a disorderly persons offense, which carries a penalty of up to 6 months in jail, but for second and subsequent offenses the charge is increased to a fourth degree crime, which  is punishable by up to 18 months in jail.

 

Third degree promoting prostitution, which is punishable by 3 to 5 years in prison, is a more serious crime. It includes owning, controlling, managing, supervising or otherwise keeping a house of prostitution or a prostitution business; procuring an inmate for a house of prostitution or procuring a place in a house of prostitution for one who would be an inmate; or encouraging, inducing, or otherwise purposely causing another to become or remain a prostitute. Other types of promoting prostitution, such as soliciting a person to patronize a prostitute or procuring a prostitute for a patron, are classified as fourth degree crimes.

 

For more information about prostitution charges in New Jersey or to schedule a free and confidential legal consultation, contact the law offices of Palumbo & Renaud at 908-337-7353.

 

 

 

 

 

85% Rule applies in May’s Landing Sexual Assault Conviction

When a person is convicted of a sex crime in New Jersey, they may be subjected to the No Early Release Act (NERA) or 85% Rule.  Under this rule, any person convicted of a sex crime must serve 85% of his sentence before becoming eligible for parole.  It does not matter whether the sex crime involved a child or an adult.  As long as the individual has been convicted of a sex crime, he may be subjected to this rule.  For an example of how the rule works, consider a recent sexual assault case in New Jersey in which a man was sentenced to 8 years in prison after pleading guilty to sexual assaulting a 6-year-old boy in an Atlantic City arcade.  Sexual Assault is a second-degree crime which means it carries a 5 to 10 year prison sentence.  The man was sentenced to 8 years in prison.  85% of 8 years is 6.8 years.  Therefore, the man must serve 6.8 years of his 8 year sentence before becoming eligible for parole.  Eligibility does not mean parole will be granted, it only means that the person may request parole at the parole hearing.