Springfield Prostitution Charges

Like sting operations that take place over the internet in which police pose as distributers of child porn or as young children in order to lure offenders into chat rooms, police also conduct sting operations for Union County sex crimes that take place off the internet. For example, over the past weekend, several Springfield police officers posed as customers at a massage parlor that was operating to provide illegal sexual services to its clientele. The upshot of the operation was that three women were charged with prostitution in Union County. In New Jersey, the penalties for prostitution vary based on whether it is an individuals’ first or subsequent offense and whether a minor was involved. A person’s first Springfield prostitution offense is a disorderly persons offense which carries up to $1,000 in fines and six months in jail. A second or subsequent offense is a Fourth Degree Crime which carries up to 18 months in prison and fines. Finally, when a minor is involved, Union County prostitution is a third degree crime which carries 3 to 5 years in prison and fines.

I am Anthony N. Palumbo, Springfield criminal defense lawyer and I defend individuals charged with prostitution & solicitation. The penalties for prostitution are the same irrespective of whether you are the person purchasing the service or rendering it. However, it is important to be aware that in addition to prostitution charges, a person can also be charged with Loitering for the Purposes of Committing Prostitution or Promoting or Facilitating Prostitution between two other parties (pimping). These acts constitute third degree crimes which carry 3 to 5 years in prison. To learn more about prostitution in New Jersey and defenses available to all of these crimes, contact me today for a free and confidential consultation at 1-866-664-8118. You may also visit the prostitution and solicitation penalty and charges information page on my website at www.palumbo-renaud.com