Ocean County man arrested for sexually assaulting two young girls

A Jackson Township man was arrested in June for sexually assaulting two girls under the age of 13. The man, who allegedly engaged in oral sex and vaginal penetration with the victims, was charged with first degree aggravated sexual assault, second degree sexual assault, and second and third degree endangering the welfare of a child.

 

Committing an act of sexual penetration with a child who is less than 13 years old constitutes first degree aggravated sexual assault and is punishable by 10 to 20 years in prison. As in this case, however, separate charges can also be brought for second degree sexual assault, which carries a penalty of 5 to 10 years in prison, and for child endangerment, which is punishable by 3 to 10 years. Additionally, convicted child sex offenders have to comply with the registration and reporting requirements of Megan’s Law.

 

New Jersey courts are tough on child sex abusers and just being accused of a sex crime can ruin your reputation and alienate you from your friends and family. You don’t have to go through this difficult process alone though–an experienced criminal defense attorney can help you to understand the legal stages ahead of you and fight to get you the lightest penalty possible. If you need a sex crimes defense attorney you can contact me, Anthony N. Palumbo, at 1-866-664-8118 to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation. Together we’ll discuss the circumstances of your case, possible defenses, and your chances for getting the charges dropped.

Sex offender harboring legislation advances in New Jersey Senate

As reported by NJ.com, a bill pending in the New Jersey Senate would impose a mandatory three year sentence on anyone convicted of harboring sex offenders, impeding their arrest, or helping them to avoid sex offender registration requirements. The bill was approved by the Law and Public Safety Committee and will soon be voted on by the full Senate.

 

Being accused of a sex crime can have serious consequences, including prison time and fines, civil commitment, and registration under New Jersey’s Megan’s Law. Even if you’re innocent, the mere accusation can permanently damage your reputation. And as this legislation shows, aiding sex offenders can carry stiff consequences even if you didn’t actually commit a sex crime.

 

If you’ve been charged with a sex crime, contact me, Anthony N. Palumbo, New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney, through the email form on my website or at 1-866-664-8118 for a free and confidential consultation. I am a partner at the criminal defense law firm Palumbo & Renaud, and I know what it takes to fight sex crimes charges successfully. As a former prosecutor and current criminal defense attorney with more than 35 years of experience, I have the resources, skills, and expertise to aggressively defend you and protect your legal rights.

 

Palumbo & Renaud is a New Jersey criminal defense law firm with offices in Cranford, Elizabeth, Newark, and Manasquan, and we represent individuals throughout New Jersey, including Essex County, Hudson County, Middlesex County, Monmouth County, Ocean County and Union County.

 

Ocean County pediatrician sentenced to 60 days for secretly photographing nude teenage patient

As reported by NJ.com, a Tom’s River pediatrician pled guilty to child endangerment and was sentenced to 60 days in jail for secretly taking nude photographs of one of his female teenage patients. In addition to the jail term, he also has to perform 60 days of community service and serve three years of probation.

New Jersey law provides that a person is guilty of child endangerment in the second degree if he photographs a nude child for the purposes of his own sexual stimulation or that of any other person who may view the photo. N.J.S.A. § 2C:24-4. The ordinary term of imprisonment for this offense is usually between five and ten years, but the mandatory minimum can be reduced for a defendant’s first offense if the prosecutor requests the reduction and the sentencing judge finds that the mandatory term would not serve the interests of justice. N.J.S.A. § 2C:43-6; N.J.S.A. § 2C:43-6.2.

A person who is convicted of taking nude photographs of children is also required to register as a sex offender under Megan’s Law. N.J.S.A. § 2C:7-2. Sex offenders are classified as Tier 1 (low risk), Tier 2 (moderate risk), or Tier 3 (high risk) based on a variety of factors relevant to their likelihood of recidivism. Only law enforcement agencies are notified of Tier 1 offenders. For Tier 2 offenders, law enforcement, schools, day cares, camps, and community organizations are notified. And for Tier 3 offenders, all the above parties are notified, and the information is also placed on the internet so that the public can view it.

Many of the people who are charged with endangering the welfare of a child have never been in trouble with the law before. Unfortunately, this is one of the most damaging offenses in criminal law, and the mere accusation that a person has committed a crime against children can be enough to destroy that person’s family and career forever. If you have been charged with a crime against a child, you can contact me, Anthony N. Palumbo, New Jersey Sex Crime Attorney through the email form on my website, or you can call me at 1-866-664-8118. As a criminal defense lawyer with extensive experience defending people accused of crimes against children, I can speak to you confidently and accurately about your case. And even if you decide not to retain my services, the consultation is entirely confidential, so you can get answers to your most private questions.




Sexual Assault Charges in West Orange, Essex County

The Owner of a Popular West Orange Bar was Charged with Sexual Assault and Endangering the Welfare of Children in Essex County.

New Jersey News reports the owner of a popular bar in West Orange is in Essex County jail after being charged with sexual assault and child endangerment of two 15-year-old boys.  The bar owner, 49, of West Orange, and his wife, were arrested at the bar he owned, Halligan’s Public House.  The man was charged with multiple counts of sexual assault and endangering the welfare of a child.  He is being held at the Essex County Jail on $400,000 bail with no 10 percent option. The investigation into the bar owner and his wife began when one victim, now an adult, approached authorities.  West Orange police and the Essex County Prosecutor’s Office are jointly investigating the charges.

A conviction for sexual assault and endangering the welfare of a child, often called statutory rape, has severe criminal consequences.  Statutory rape is consensual sex with a minor who is too young to give his or her consent to having sex.  In New Jersey, the crime of statutory rape is charged as either sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault, depending on the age of the victim.  It is not a defense that the accused was not aware of the victim’s age when engaging in sexual activity.

A conviction for sexual assault could result in a prison sentence of up to 10 years. For aggravated sexual assault, the maximum prison sentence is 20 years. Additionally, people convicted of either of these crimes must register as sex offenders under Megan’s Law. This law requires you to give your name, whereabouts and a list of your crimes to the local community.  Additionally, a conviction of aggravated sexual assault requires registration for life.

I, Anthony N. Palumbo, a New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney, understand the workings of the law and can properly defend accused persons in sexual assault offenses as well as those who have been convicted of solicitation of a prostitute.  Visit my website, www.palumbo-renaud.com, for more information.  I have been defending individuals against sexual assault charges, including those involving minors, in New Jersey for almost four decades.  As a longstanding member of the legal community, a former prosecutor, and a current public defender, I can give you an honest assessment of the penalties you face and the best possible avenues of relief.  If you would like to discuss your case, freely and confidentially, with an experienced attorney at no obligation, contact me at 1-866-664-8118 for a free consultation.

Man Convicted of Attempted Sexual Assault in Newark, Essex County

A Newark Man was convicted after he attempted to lure an Undercover Cop he thought was a 12 Year Old Girl.

Local News reports a Newark man was convicted in Essex County of attempted sexual assault with who he thought was a 12-year-old girl he lured on the Internet and who he drove to meet at a Woodland Park store parking lot.  The Nigerian native was found guilty of luring, attempted sexual assault and attempted child endangerment by a jury. He faces as much as 30 years in state prison.

Because of the nature of the conviction, the man in this case will likely have to register as a sex offender under Megan’s Law in New Jersey. An attempt to commit sexual assault of a child under 16 will place a convicted individual on Megan’s law if the conduct was characterized by a pattern of repetitive, compulsive behavior.  Here, the circumstances indicate such a pattern of behavior through defendant’s repetitive use of the internet to solicit.

In New Jersey, Megan’s law sex offender registry requires convicted sex offenders to provide information to the local community about what they look like, where they live, their past crimes, and even the vehicle they drive so the community can be aware of their presence.  Offenders are designated tiers based on the severity of their actions.  A person may be ranked as Tier 1 (low risk), Tier 2 (moderate risk), or Tier 3 (high risk offender).  The risk assessment refers to the likelihood that the individual will commit another similar crime.  An experienced Essex County Sex Crime Defense Attorney can fight for the rights of a convicted individual to help lower their tier designation at status conference meetings.

A skilled defense attorney can help reduce one’s Megan’s Law sex offender tier designation.  I, Anthony N. Palumbo, a New Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer, understand the workings of the law and can properly defend accused persons in sexual assault offenses as well as those who have been convicted.  Visit my website, for more information on New Jersey Crimes Against Children Lawyer. I have been defending individuals against sexual assault charges, including those involving minors, in New Jersey for almost four decades.  As a longstanding member of the legal community, a former prosecutor, and a current public defender, I can give you an honest assessment of the penalties you face and the best possible avenues of relief.  If you would like to discuss your case, freely and confidentially, with an experienced attorney at no obligation, contact me at 1-866-664-8118 for a free consultation.

A Millstone Man was Charged in a Child Prostitution Scheme after Monmouth County Police Discovered he had Engaged in Relations with a Minor

Anthony N. Palumbo – New Jersey Sex Crime Defense Attorney

A Millstone man was arrested by Monmouth County investigators after allegedly taking part in child prostitution.  The man faces charges of second-degree sexual assault and third-degree endangering the welfare of a minor in connection with having sex with the 15-year-old boy.  The man was accused of having sex with the boy at his Millstone residence.  He was arrested at his home by State Police, and released after posting $250,000 full bail.

Because of the age of the victim, the accused in this case faces significant criminal penalties.  If convicted, the defendant would likely be forced to register under Megan’s Law as a child sex offender.  In New Jersey, Megan’s law sex offender registry requires convicted sex offenders to provide information to local police about what they look like, where they live, type of car they drive and their past crimes so the police can be aware of their presence.  Police then distribute this information based on the prescribed offender level of the registrant to appropriate community officials.  The higher the level of offender (one through three with three being the highest tier), the more notice will be provided to the community including local school officials and potentially neighbors within a two block radius.  Importantly, this information must be distributed by police according to certain procedures so as not to violate the registrant’s rights to privacy.

Once on Megan’s law, it is possible to be designated a reduced tier over time through status conferences with county prosecutors.  Good behavior over a prolonged period of time as well as compliance with counseling and other programs often help offenders in reducing their Megan’s Law tier designations.  After a prolonged period of time, it is even possible to be removed from Megan’s Law completely.

I, Anthony N. Palumbo, a New Jersey Criminal Sexual Contact Lawyer, understand the workings of the law and can properly defend accused persons in sexual assault offenses as well as those who have been convicted of solicitation of a prostitute.  Visit my website, www.palumbo-renaud.com, for more information.

Middlesex Criminal Sexual Contact: Female Teacher & Female Student

New Jersey Sex Defense Lawyer – Anthony N. Palumbo

Criminal sexual contact charges in New Jersey occur when there is “sexual contact” between two people and certain circumstances exist that make the contact criminal.  Force or the victim’s age can make the sexual contact criminal.  There are many other circumstances that can also make a sexual touching criminal: (1) The actor uses physical force or coercion, but the victim does not sustain severe personal injury; or (2) The victim is on probation or parole, or is detained in a hospital, prison or other institution and the actor has supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim by virtue of the actor’s legal, professional or occupational status; or (3) The victim is at least 16 but less than 18-years-old and the actor is related to the victim by blood or affinity to the third degree; or the actor has supervisory or disciplinary power of any nature or in any capacity over the victim; or the actor is a resource family parent, a guardian, or stands in loco parentis within the household; or (4) The victim is at least 13 but less than 16-years-old and the actor is at least four years older than the victim.

For example, consider the following Middlesex criminal sexual contact case in which a female teacher was convicted of criminal sexual contact after an affair with a female student.  The defendant was a female swim coach and school teacher in Scotch Plains who engaged in contact with a student after the mother of the victim requested that she keep an eye on her child because she was going through a difficult time. The defendant was fired after she pled guilty to the crime and is prohibited from teaching in New Jersey or working for the state.  Criminal sexual contact is a third degree charge and if a person is convicted of this crime they will face 3 to 5 years in prison, and serious fines.  In this case the woman received a one-year prison sentence and five years of probation, plus she must register with Megan’s Law. Megan’s law is a lifelong notification system in which the local community where the offender lives is provided with his personal information and details about the crime for which he was convicted.