Ocean County man arrested for sexually assaulting two young girls

A Jackson Township man was arrested in June for sexually assaulting two girls under the age of 13. The man, who allegedly engaged in oral sex and vaginal penetration with the victims, was charged with first degree aggravated sexual assault, second degree sexual assault, and second and third degree endangering the welfare of a child.

 

Committing an act of sexual penetration with a child who is less than 13 years old constitutes first degree aggravated sexual assault and is punishable by 10 to 20 years in prison. As in this case, however, separate charges can also be brought for second degree sexual assault, which carries a penalty of 5 to 10 years in prison, and for child endangerment, which is punishable by 3 to 10 years. Additionally, convicted child sex offenders have to comply with the registration and reporting requirements of Megan’s Law.

 

New Jersey courts are tough on child sex abusers and just being accused of a sex crime can ruin your reputation and alienate you from your friends and family. You don’t have to go through this difficult process alone though–an experienced criminal defense attorney can help you to understand the legal stages ahead of you and fight to get you the lightest penalty possible. If you need a sex crimes defense attorney you can contact me, Anthony N. Palumbo, at 1-866-664-8118 to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation. Together we’ll discuss the circumstances of your case, possible defenses, and your chances for getting the charges dropped.

Former Essex County middle school teacher pleads guilty to child porn possession

A former Essex County middle school teacher and swim coach admitted in federal court to possessing and distributing child pornography, NJ.com reports. The images, which included depictions of both sadistic and masochistic conduct, were downloaded and posted via peer-to-peer file sharing software.

 

Under federal child pornography laws, a person who creates, distributes, possesses, or views child pornography will be sentenced to at least 5 but no more than 20 years in prison. If the person has a criminal record including certain sex offenses, the sentence is increased to at least 15 but no more than 40 years.

 

Child pornography is also illegal under state law. Distributing child pornography is considered a second degree crime in New Jersey, subject to a sentence of 5 to 10 years in prison, and the possession of child pornography is a fourth degree crime, subject to a sentence of up to 18 months imprisonment. In addition to imprisonment, a person convicted on child pornography charges may also be required to register as a sex offender under New Jersey’s Megan’s Law.

 

If you’ve been charged with a child pornography crime, you could be facing serious penalties if you don’t have strong legal representation of your own. Don’t wait until it’s too late to mount an effective legal  challenge in your case. To meet with an internet sex crimes lawyer for a free and confidential consultation, contact me, Anthony N. Palumbo at the law firm Palumbo & Renaud at 1-866-664-8118 or through this online form.

 

More information about crimes against children on my website:

  • Endangering the Welfare of Children
  • Child Pornography
  • Child Pornography Charges
  • Child Molestation
  • Child Molestation by Family Members or Friends
  • Child Sexual Assault

Ocean County luring incident under investigation

As reported by Jackson Online, police in Jackson Township are currently investigating an attempted luring incident that took place on March 12, 2012. The incident involved a suspicious man driving a red Jeep, who approached several children and asked them if they wanted a ride or if they’d seen a dog he was looking for.

 

In New Jersey, a person commits the crime of second degree luring if he attempts to lure or entice a child under the age of 18 into a motor vehicle, structure, or isolated area, or to meet or appear at any other place, with a purpose to commit a criminal offense against the child. A conviction for second degree luring carries a penalty of 5 to 10 years in prison, and may also trigger sex offender registration requirements under Megan’s Law.

 

If you’ve been charged with luring or any other sex crime, I urge you to seek legal advice immediately. My name is Anthony N. Palumbo, and I am a New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney  from Palumbo & Renaud Law Firm with more than 35 years of experience. Contact me today for a free initial consultation through the email form on my website or at 1-866-664-8118, and I will carefully go through the facts of your case to make sure that all possible defenses are raised on your behalf.

 

Ocean Township police arrest ex-con for child sex assault

Police in Ocean Township charged a convicted felon with criminal sexual contact and sexual assault in relation to an alleged attack on a 13 year old girl, according to the Asbury Park Press. The man, who was incarcerated from 1997 to 2003 for other crimes, was friend of the victim’s family.

 

Second degree child sexual assault is punishable by 5 to 10 years in prison, and includes situations where the victim is between 13 and 16 years old and the actor is at least 4 years older than the victim. These circumstances also qualify as fourth degree criminal sexual contact, which carries a penalty of up to 18 months in prison.

 

In addition to these penalties, convicted child sex offenders must also register as sex offenders under New Jersey’s Megan’s Law. This can be one of the most difficult parts of a child sex abuse case because registration is very public and can continue after prison or even permanently, severely damaging offenders’ reputations and making it difficult for them to obtain housing and employment.

 

Sexual offenses involving children are some of the most damaging offenses in criminal law, and the mere accusation that a person has committed a child sexual assault can be enough to destroy that person’s family and career forever. If you’ve been charged with child sexual assault in New Jersey, you need a knowledgeable and skilled child sex abuse defense attorney who will fight to have your charges reduced or dismissed. For a seasoned criminal defense attorney, you can contact me, Anthony N. Palumbo, New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney, through the email form on my website or at 1-866-664-8118 for a free and confidential consultation.

 

School bus driver in Ocean County arrested for child pornography distribution

Jackson Online reports that an Ocean County school bus driver was arrested by federal agents and charged with downloading and distributing child pornography via peer-to-peer file sharing. The FBI seized a computer from his home containing images and videos depicting child pornography, including photographs of prepubescent children and children being sexually abused.

Under federal child pornography laws, a person who creates, distributes, possesses, or views child pornography will be sentenced to at least 5 but no more than 20 years in prison. Child pornography offenses can also be prosecuted under New Jersey law, which makes it a second degree offense, punishable by 5 to 10 years in prison, to create or distribute child pornography.

Internet child pornography charges will almost always implicate both federal and state law. This is because child pornography cases are subject to federal prosecution if the pornographic material was produced in or distributed from another state, and given the complex configuration of the internet, the act of viewing, emailing, or downloading online child pornography usually involves the use of data stored on internet servers located in several states.

If you’re facing internet child pornography charges, it may feel like everyone just assumes that you’re guilty. Unfortunately, your fears are probably justified. Not only can a conviction lead to serious criminal penalties, but accusations alone can be enough to turn your life upside-down and ruin your personal and professional reputations forever. That’s why it’s crucial to seek legal representation as soon as possible if you’ve have been charged with child pornography possession or distribution.

To arrange a free and confidential consultation with an internet sex crimes lawyer, contact me, Anthony N. Palumbo, New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney, at 1-866-664-8118 or through this online form. With more than 35 years of trial experience as a prosecutor and defense attorney, I know what the prosecution needs to convict you and I know what it takes to fight the charges successfully.

 

Ocean County man arrested for exposing himself to young girls

A 38-year old Jackson Township man was arrested for allegedly exposing himself to young girls during an incident that took place in Lakewood in late August. The man was apprehended during a surveillance operation and the police believe that he may be responsible for similar incidents dating back to 2008.

 

Depending on the circumstances of this case and the age of the girls, the man could be charged with sexual assault, which includes situations where the offender intentionally touches himself for the purpose of sexual gratification and the touching is in view of a victim who is less than 13 years old. Sexual assault is a second degree crime, punishable by 5 to 10 years in prison.

 

If the man didn’t touch himself during the incident but merely exposed himself to the girls, he could still be charged with lewdness, which is defined under New Jersey law as “exposing of the genitals for the purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual desire of the actor or any other person.” If the girls were under the age of 13, lewdness would be a fourth degree crime, which is punishable by up to 18 months in prison. Otherwise, it would be a disorderly persons offense, which can carry penalties of up to 6 months in prison and up to $1,000 in fines.

 

In addition to these penalties, a person who is convicted of a child sexual abuse crime will also be required to register as a sex offender under Megan’s Law.

 

Sexual offenses involving children are some of the most damaging offenses in criminal law, and the mere accusation that a person has committed a child sexual assault can be enough to destroy that person’s family and career forever. If you’ve been charged with a sex crime against a child, you can contact me, Anthony N. Palumbo, New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney for a free and confidential consultation through the on my website or at 1-866-664-8118. As a criminal defense lawyer with extensive experience defending people accused of sex crimes and crimes against children, I can speak to you confidently and accurately about your case. And even if you decide not to retain my services, the consultation is entirely confidential, so you can get answers to your most private questions.

 

Ocean County corrections officer leaves job after being charged with prostitution

According to the Asbury Park Press, an Ocean County corrections officer left his post after being administratively charged with “conduct unbecoming an officer” for allegedly meeting with a prostitute at a Toms River hotel. Although he wasn’t officially charged with any crimes, the corrections officer could have lost his job because the prostitute he allegedly met with was formerly incarcerated in the prison where he worked, and corrections officers are prohibited from fraternizing with current or former inmates.

 

Prostitution is defined in New Jersey as “sexual activity with another person in exchange for something of economic value, or the offer or acceptance of an offer to engage in sexual activity in exchange for something of economic value.” Soliciting someone to engage in prostitution is generally a fourth degree crime, punishable by up to 18 months in prison, but charges involving minors can result in more severe penalties.

 

The mere accusation that a person has engaged in prostitution can be enough to destroy that person’s reputation forever, and as this case shows, it can also result in disciplinary and other non-criminal charges that could result in employment termination or the loss of other benefits.

 

If you’ve been accused of prostitution or any other sex crime in New Jersey, you can contact me, Anthony N. Palumbo, New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney, through the email form on my website or at 1-866-664-8118. As a criminal defense lawyer with extensive experience defending people accused of sex crimes, I can speak to you confidently and accurately about the criminal and administrative penalties you might be facing. And even if you decide not to retain my services, the consultation is free and confidential, so you can get answers to your most private questions.

 

Ocean County Man Sentenced for Sexually Assaulting Children

Cirilo Cholula Maranchel, 19, of Lakewood, was sentenced to 25 years in prison after pleading guilty to crimes committed in 2009. Maranchel sexually assaulted eight girls, who ranged in age from four to nine. He faced six counts of aggravated sexual assault, as well as two additional sexual assault charges.

 

Maranchel chose not to try his case, as he wanted to spare his victims the strain that would accompany any trial. However, not everyone charged with a sex offense has such an easy decision. Often, uninformed decisions are made that severely diminish the rights of those accused.

 

Many people charged with a sex crime plead guilty without understanding exactly what they are up against. They just want to move past the conviction, and focus on moving forward. Unfortunately for those people, sex crimes carry many unique sentencing components that last long after a release from prison.

 

Those convicted are also required to register as sex offenders. Whenever a person moves into a new neighborhood, law enforcement must be notified. In turn, the community will be informed about the offender’s presence. If the offender does not commit any additional sex offenses in the 15 years following a conviction, he or she can petition the court to be removed from the offender list, but the court does not necessarily have to remove the offender from the list.

 

Additionally, most sex offenders will be forced to serve at least 85 percent of their prison sentences before being eligible for parole. The No Early Release Act applies to those convicted of violent offenses, and includes aggravated sexual assault.

 

If any of the victims are children, these cases can become extremely high profile. The media may distribute information that makes it difficult to obtain a fair trial. Prosecutors will be under pressure to get convictions, and be unwilling to discuss potential plea bargains.

 

When you have been charged with a sex crime, it is extremely important to discuss your case with an experienced criminal defense attorney. It is important to prepare a strong defense as soon as you learn you are the target of an investigation. Often, police focus on a suspect, and begin to gather evidence that supports their theories. Any information that could cast doubt on guilt or provide a defense against the accusations is routinely ignored, making it difficult to defend yourself against the accusations.

 

My name is Anthony N. Palumbo, New Jersey Sex Crime Defense Lawyer with over 35 years of experience practicing criminal law at the firm Palumbo & Renaud. I have extensive experience handling the defense of sex crimes and have obtained relief for those people facing charges involving criminal sexual contact. I understand the severity of sexual crimes, and how embarrassing these charges can be. We are here to help you and your family get through the legal process. I know what needs to get done and I make sure that criminal sexual contact charges are handled with the right balance of aggressive litigation and sensitivity.

 

For more information on sex crimes in New Jersey, visit my sex crimes website and my New Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer website at www.palumbo-renaud which provides all the information you need to know about sex crimes in New Jersey. Call 908-337-7353 for a free consultation today.

Twenty year jail term for Newark man who attacked two girls and a young woman in Essex County

NJ.com reports that a Newark man was sentenced to 20 years in prison after pleading guilty to luring an 11 year old girl, kidnapping and assaulting a 14 year old girl, and kidnapping and sexually assaulting an 18 year old woman. According to prosecutors, he attempted to kidnap the 11 year old and the 14 year old on the same date, and separately abducted the 18 year old woman and sexually assaulted her while holding a box cutter to her head.

 

A person commits the crime of second degree luring if he attempts to lure or entice a child under the age of 18 into a motor vehicle, structure, or isolated area, or to meet or appear at any other place, with a purpose to commit a criminal offense (such as a sexual assault) with or against the child. A conviction for second degree luring carries a penalty of 5 to 10 years in prison.

 

Kidnapping is a more serious offense, and is committed when a person unlawfully removes another person from her home or business, or a substantial distance from the vicinity where she was taken, or if he unlawfully confines her for a substantial period, when his purpose is:

  • to facilitate the commission of any crime or flight thereafter;
  • to inflict bodily injury on or to terrorize the victim or another person;
  • to interfere with the performance of any governmental function; or
  • to permanently deprive a parent, guardian, or other lawful custodian of custody of the victim.

Kidnapping is usually classified as a first degree crime and is punishable by a term of 15 to 30 years in prison. Certain aggravating factors can result in a longer prison sentence, such as sexually assaulting a child victim during the kidnapping.

 

Sexual assault charges can be brought based on many different kinds of non-consensual sexual penetration, and may be charged as either first or second degree crimes based on the severity of the offense. Second degree sexual assault is upgraded to first degree aggravated sexual assault, however, if the offense is committed during the course of a kidnapping, as in this case. As a first degree crime, aggravated sexual assault is punishable by 10 to 20 years in prison, and a convicted offender also has to register for life as a sex offender under New Jersey’s Megan’s Law.

 

If you’ve been charged with luring, kidnapping, or sexual assault in Essex County or anywhere else in New Jersey, you need a knowledgeable sex crimes defense attorney who can advise you of the penalties you face, possible defenses, and the best course of action to take to avoid or minimize criminal penalties. Contact me, Anthony N. Palumbo, New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney, through the email form on my website www.palumbo-renaud.com, or call me at 1-866-664-8118 for a free and confidential consultation. As a former prosecutor and current defense lawyer with more than 35 years of experience, I know the best strategies for protecting your rights and I will help to guide you through this difficult process.

Ocean County man charged in underage prostitution case

A 64 year old Toms River man became the fourth man to be arrested in an underage prostitution scheme earlier this month. The suspect was detained on $175,000 bail and charged with child endangerment and engaging in prostitution with a minor.

 

The offense of endangering the welfare of a child applies when an actor engages in a prohibited sexual act with a child who is less than 16 years old. “Prohibited sexual acts” include not just sexual penetration, but also bestiality, sadism, masochism, oral sex, and the possession, creation, or distribution of child pornography. The severity of child endangerment charges varies depending on the underlying offense, ranging from fourth degree criminal charges for viewing or possessing child pornography to first degree criminal charges for parents who photograph or film their children engaging in prohibited sexual acts. In a case such as this one, involving child prostitution, the actor would likely be charged with child endangerment in the third degree, which is punishable by 3 to 5 years imprisonment.

 

Engaging in prostitution with a minor is also third degree crime, and the law specifies that it’s no defense if the actor mistakenly believed that the child was 18 years or older, even if his mistaken belief was reasonable.

 

In addition to prison time and possible fines, a person convicted of the charges raised in this news story would also be required to register as a sex offender under New Jersey’s Megan’s Law.

 

Sex crimes involving minors are some of the most stigmatizing offenses in criminal law, and the mere accusation that a person has committed a crime against children can be enough to destroy his family and career forever. But even if you’ve been charged with a sex crime against a child, you may have legal defenses available to you, and you should consult with an experienced sex crimes defense lawyer as soon as possible to discuss whether your charges could be reduced or even dismissed.

 

If you need a New Jersey Sex Crime Defense Lawyer, you can contact me, Anthony N. Palumbo, through the email form on my website www.palumbo-renaud.com or at 1-866-664-8118 for a free and confidential consultation. As a New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney with extensive experience defending people accused of sex offenses and crimes against children, I can speak to you confidently and accurately about your case, and even if you decide not to retain my services, the consultation is entirely confidential, so you can get answers to your most private questions.