Essex County Man Charged with Sexual Assault of Minor that He Met in an Internet Chat Room

 

An Essex County man was indicted on charges of sexually assaulting a 13-year-old Morris County girl he lured via an online kids chat room.

Viktor Zhadanov, 27, of Belleville, was arrested when police found him with the girl in his sports utility vehicle.  The girl told police she met Zhadanov in Kids Chat, an online chat room, where he had the user name of “Slave” and claimed he was 15 and from Newark.

An indictment handed up by a grand jury in Superior Court in Morristown charges him with three counts of second-degree luring via electronic means; two counts each of second-degree sexual assault and fourth-degree criminal sexual contact; three counts of third-degree endangering; and one count of third-degree hindering apprehension, of providing false information to police.

Sexual crimes involving minors often result in enhanced punishment for the accused.  An individual can be convicted of aggravated sexual assault if he commits an act of sexual penetration with another person under 13 years old.  In this case, the victim is 13 years of age.  Therefore, this individual was charged with sexual assault.  For further understanding, refer to N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2.

Regardless, if the accused is convicted of sexual assault on a minor, he is likely subject to being placed on a sex offender registry, commonly known as “Megan’s Law.”  This system classifies sex offenders into three tiers with a Tier 3 offender being the highest.  The different tiers are then subject to various restrictions and notification requirements.  Over time, through status hearings between the offender, prosecutor, and the Court, an individual can have his tier designation reduced, thereby going from Tier 2 to Tier 1, for example.

Call 908-337-7353 for a free consultation.

 

Charged with Sexual Assault in Union County

Last week a 20-year-old man was charged with first-degree sexual assault and second-degree sexual assault in New Jersey after his sexual relationship with a 12-year-old girl came to the attention of the Union County Prosecutor.   The accused met the girl on the internet and thereafter, they met several times around Union County to allegedly engage in acts of sexual penetration.  The information was revealed to the police after one of the girl’s parents became aware of the incident.

In New Jersey, first degree child sex abuse is the same crime as aggravated sexual assault of a child.  A conviction carries 10 to 20 years in prison.  It can occur two general ways: (1) An adult commits an act of sexual penetration with a person who is under 13-years-old; or (2) An adult commits an act of sexual penetration with a person who is 13 to 16-years-old; and one of the following situations exists: (a) The adult is related to the victim by blood or affinity to the third degree; (b) the adult has supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim based on his legal, professional, or occupational relationship with the victim; or (c) the adult is a resource family parent, a guardian, or stands in loco parentis within the household.

In New Jersey, second degree child sex abuse is the same as second degree sexual assault of a child. A conviction carries 5 to 10 years in prison.  It can occur two general ways: (1) An adult commits sexual penetration with a child who is 13 to 16-years-old, and the actor is at least four years older than the victim; or (2) The victim is 16 to 18-years-old and one of the following circumstances exist: (a) The adult is related to the victim by blood or affinity to the third degree; or (b) the adult has supervisory or disciplinary power of any nature or in any capacity over the victim; or (c) the adult is a resource family parent, a guardian, or stands in loco parentis within the household.

In New Jersey, first degree child abuse is considered aggravated sexual assault and carries a lifelong registration penalty under Megan’s Law.  Thus, if the young man is convicted of first degree sexual assault, he will be forced to register under Megan’s law for life.

My name is Anthony N. Palumbo, New Jersey sex crime attorney and if you have been charged with first degree sexual assault or child abuse in New Jersey, the penalties you face won’t end after incarceration.  Megan’s law is possibly the severest part of a first degree sexual assault conviction because it stays with you for life.  If you are involved in a situation that you feel may result in allegations of child abuse, contact an attorney immediately to find out how to protect your rights today.  Call 1-866-664-8118 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey sex crime attorney or visit my website at www.palumborenaud.com.
today.

Luring Charges in Summit New Jersey

In New Jersey, a person commits luring if he attempts by any means to lure or entice a child into a motor vehicle or isolated area with the purpose to commit a criminal offense with the child.  For example, a man recently faced luring charges in New Jersey after he attempted to lure a 9-year-old fifth grade student into his car.  This is luring in its most simple form, however, in New Jersey, luring is a crime that commonly occurs over the internet.  Under the definition of the luring, in order to be convicted, a person must attempt to lure the child to a place with the purpose of committing a criminal offense once there.  Thus, one cannot be convicted of this crime for merely conversing with a child over the internet and the man in the case above cannot be convicted without proof of intent to commit a crime at the destination.

The penalties for Luring are severe and are even more severe if the accused has been previously convicted of the crime.  A first offense is a second degree crime which results in 5-10 years in prison and fines and a second or subsequent offense is a second degree charge with a minimum prison term of one-third to one-half of the sentence imposed.

My name is Anthony N. Palumbo, New Jersey sex crimes defense lawyer and if you have been charged or are even under suspicion for a luring in New Jersey, it is important to contact an experienced defense lawyer immediately.  Don’t wait until incriminating evidence accumulates against you.  Protect your rights now to prevent a charge from resulting.  I have been successfully defending charges of luring in New Jersey for more than 35 years and I obtain favorable results in the vast majority of my cases.  Contact me today to discuss your situation confidential and free of charge at 1-866-664-8118 or visit  www.newjerseysexcrimeattorney.com for more information about luring in New Jersey.